An exhaustive list of targeting scenarios and what happens

Updated a month ago ​by Matt Bilotti

The following scenarios explain what will happen depending on what setup you choose when creating a campaign.

Site Visitor targeting scenarios

Audience: Site Visitors

Display when: No restrictions

Send This: “Until I shut it off” or “Until a specific date”

What Happens All visitors to your website, anywhere that Drift is installed, will see the campaign you’re sending until the end date is reached or the campaign is paused or deleted.

==

Audience: Site Visitors

Display when: Any restrictions

Send This: “Until I shut it off” or “Until a specific date”

What Happens: All visitors to your website that match your Display when, anywhere that Drift is installed, will see the campaign you’re sending until the end date is reached or the campaign is paused or deleted.

Static Segment targeting scenarios without Display when restrictions

Audience: Any static segment

Display when: No restrictions

Send This: “Right now”

What happens: All users in that static segment at the time of sending will see this campaign. You will be able to pause this campaign at anytime. Whoever has not received the campaign yet will not recieve it.

==

Audience: Any static segment

Display when: No restrictions

Send This: “Until a specific date”

What happens: All users in that static segment at the time of sending will see this campaign until the date specified. On that date, we no longer try to deliver the campaign. You will be able to pause this campaign at anytime to anyone who has not received the campaign yet before the end date.

==

Audience: Any static segment

Display when: No restrictions

Send This: “Until I manually shut it off”

What happens: All users in that static segment at the time of sending will see this campaign until the campaign is paused or deleted. You will be able to pause it at anytime to anyone who has not received the campaign yet.

Static Segment targeting scenarios with Display when restrictions

Audience: Static segment

Display when: Any restrictions

Send This: “Until I shut it off” or “Until a specific date”

What happens: All users in that static segment at the time of sending will see this campaign (if they match the Display when criteria) until the end date is reached or the campaign is paused or deleted.

 

Dynamic Segment targeting scenarios without Display when restrictions

Audience: Any dynamic segment

Display when: No restrictions

Send This: “Right now”

What happens: All users in that dynamic segment at the time of sending will see the campaign. You will be able to pause or delete it at anytime. Anyone who has not received the campaign yet will not see it if you delete or pause it.

==

Audience: Any dynamic segment

Display when: No restrictions

Send This: “Until a specific date”

What happens: All users in that dynamic segment at the time of sending, and any users that enter that segment in the future, will see this campaign until the date specified. On that date, we no longer try to deliver the campaign. You will be able to pause or delete this campaign at anytime. Anyone who has not received the campaign yet will not see it if you delete or pause it.

Audience: Any dynamic segment

Display when: No restrictions

Send This: “Until I manually shut it off”

What happens: All users in that dynamic segment at the time of sending, and any users that enter that segment in the future, will see this campaign until the campaign is paused or deleted. You will be able to pause or delete this campaign at anytime. Anyone who has not received the campaign yet will not see it if you delete or pause it.

Dynamic Segment targeting scenarios with Display when restrictions

Audience: Dynamic segment

Display when: Any restrictions

Send This: “Until I shut it off” or “Until a specific date”

What happens: All users in that dynamic segment, and any users that enter that segment in the future, at the time of sending will see this campaign (if they match the Display when criteria) until the campaign is paused or deleted. Anyone who has not received the campaign yet will not see it if you delete or pause it.

 

Not using Drift yet? Get your free account here.


Was this article helpful?


Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Talk To Us