Admin, User, and Account Owner Roles

Team Roles in Drift

Sometimes, you don't want everyone who has a Drift login to be able to access billing, change your widget settings, and more. That's why we have distinct roles with different permissions. There are three types of roles (available in all paid plans): Account Owner, Admins, and Users. 

 

Help Doc Overview

  1. What is an Admin?
  2. What is a User? 
  3. Finding and Setting User vs. Admin Roles
  4. What Admins vs. Users have access to
  5. Controlling Conversation Access of Users
  6. What is an Account Owner? How can I change Account Owners? 

 

 

 

1. What is an Admin?

An admin has access to everything in Drift. There is nothing they can't access and their navigation bar on the left side of the screen looks like this. The Account Owner is by default an Admin. 

  • Dashboard (metrics and reporting) 
  • Conversations View (all inboxes and conversations)
  • Contacts View (to see all contacts in your system and create segments)
  • Playbooks View (can see sales sequence playbooks that they created)
  • Live View (can see all customers on your site)
  • Help Center (can edit the knowledgebase) 
  • All Settings (chat widget, team, and integration app settings)

 

 

 

2. What is a User?

A user is generally somebody who is mainly using Drift to answer leads or customers that message you through Drift. Their navigation bar looks like this. 

  • Inbox View (to see conversations that an admin has granted them access to)
  • Contacts View (to see all contacts in your system and create segments)
  • Playbooks View (can see sales sequence playbooks that they created)
  • Live View (can see all customers on your site)
Even though they can access the contacts view page, users do not have access to export contacts

 

 

 

 

3. Setting User versus Admin Roles

There's only a few steps: Navigate to your Team Settings. Click on the name of the teammate whose role you want to change. Select the radio button for User or Admin. If you're setting a teammate's role to User, make sure that you're conscious of what Conversation permissions you're giving them. We'll go over what each of these options are in Section 5 of this article. 

 

 

 

4. User versus Admin permissions

Users still do have access to the following features:


Unlike admins, Users cannot access the following features:

  • The ability to view or edit billing information
  • The ability to change any of the settings related to the Chat Widget (styling, customization, hours, etc)
  • The ability to edit, add, or remove other users in Drift
  • The ability to edit your Drift team directory
  • The ability to export contacts in the contacts view
  • Configuring any Integrations settings
  • Configuring any settings for tags, installation, routing, saved replies
  • The ability to edit any playbooks besides sales sequences they created

 

 

 

 

5. Controlling Conversation Access of Users

Administrators can control which conversations users will have access too. Why? Click here to learn about the benefits of controlling conversation access.

When the User role is selected, a drop down menu labeled Conversation Access with appear. There are three types of access a user can have...

  • All Conversations - the User has access to all conversations, regardless of participant.
  • Their Conversations and Ones with No Participation - the User only has access to conversations they are participants of or have no current participants.
  • Only Their Conversations - the User only has access to conversations they are already participants of.

 

 

 

 

6. Account Ownership

The Account Owner is, by default, whoever set up the Account. They are also the Drift team's point of contact for Billing concerns. The billing information in your settings, however, is static and will not change just because the Account Owner changes. 

 

To Change Account Ownership

Find whoever is tagged the Account Owner in your Team, select their name from the table. Then, click the blue  Account Owner >  link to the right of their name and choose the teammate you would like to transfer account ownership to. 

Hit Transfer Ownership, and you're done. 

 

If you run into any trouble or have any questions, let us know. Weโ€™re here to help!


Did this help answer your question?

thumbs up
thumbs down

Thanks for the feedback! ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ


Help by drift