How the "lead" tag is assigned to a site visitor

Updated 2 months ago by Sara Pion

When you are chatting with visitors on your site, there is one customer tag that Drift assigns automatically to your site visitors who chat with you. 

That tag is the "Lead" tag. 

We assign this to any site visitors who originally come to your site as an anonymous visitor. 

Even if that user then gives you their email address later in the conversation, that tag will still remain associated with that user. 

There is currently no way to remove this tag from a user and it wont show up as an option in your tag management settings

Was this article helpful?