Admin and User Roles

Updated 3 months ago ​by Conley Ernst

Sometimes, you don't want everyone who has a Drift login to be able to access billing, change your widget settings, and more. That's why we built admin roles.

Want to know how to set up these different roles? Click here.

There are two types of admin roles (available in all paid plans):

Admin

An admin has access to everything in Drift. 

There is nothing they can't access. 

User

A user is generally somebody who is mainly using Drift to answer leads or customers that message you through Drift.

Things they get access to:

  • The inbox view (to see all conversations)
  • The contacts view (to see all contacts in your system and create segments)
Even though they can access this page, they do not have access to exporting contacts
A user's access to conversations will be dependent on how an Administrator has set their Conversation Access to (see below for more details). 

Things they can't access:

  • The ability to access, view, or edit billing
  • The ability to create, edit or view Playbooks or bot replies (only available in paid accounts)
  • The ability to change any of the settings related to the widget (styling, customization, hours, etc)
  • The ability to edit, add, or remove other users in Drift
  • The ability to edit your Drift team directory
  • The ability to export contacts in the contacts view
  • Any settings around integrations
  • Any settings for tags, installation, routing, saved replies

Here is what a User's app looks like:

You'll notice that elements in the left-hand navigation are hidden.


Controlling Conversation Access of Users

Administrators can control which conversations users will have access too. 

Why? Click here to learn about the benefits of controlling conversation access.

When the User role is selected, a drop down menu labeled Conversation Access with appear. There are three types of access a user can have...

  • All Conversations - the User has access to all conversations, regardless of participant.

  • Their Conversations and Ones with No Participation - the User only has access to conversations they are participants of or have no current participants.

  • Only Their Conversations - the User only has access to conversations they are already participants of.

Want to know how to set up controlled conversation access? Clickhere

If you run into any trouble or have any questions, let us know. We’re here to help!


Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Talk To Us