Drift Agent Training Guide

by Sara Pion

When you first setup your account, go right into your settings and setup these few initial steps for best results!

Account Info

Adding a photo and name is important to establish a personal connection with your leads. Feel free to leave this on a first-name basis if you prefer.

You can find your personal settings by clicking the avatar on the bottom of the lefthand sidebar and choosing "My Settings" 

From there, you can edit your account information, Drift profile, notification settings, and more!

Notifications

Notifications are important to setup to ensure  your notification settings as seen below:

*Note- the mobile apps are great to take chats on the go. If you want to download them, the links are in the notification section.

Drift Profile

Setup your profile (digital business card) go here.

These are great for adding to your email signature or even adding to your LinkedIn. Profiles provide a direct channel for contact.

Drift Calendar

Setup your Drift Calendar here to book more meetings right from chat.

Once connected, expand each section to tailor it to your needs. Add a conference line, buffer time, etc.

Anatomy of the Conversation View

The top section will tell you all of the information about where the chat is coming in from. URL source, location, and device.


The inbox will default to all Open conversations. You can click on the drop down and filter out only conversations that are relevant to you for an easier view to navigate.

The green dot on the chats signifies that someone has been in the chat window and is engaged. Prioritize these ones!

The purple tags on the conversations signify that someone has interacted with a Playbook and reached a specific goal. This will help you get a better understanding of the value of the lead.

Any new lead that comes in will show as “Site Visitor” at the top until they enter their email address. As soon as they leave their email, we’ll be able to pull any enriched data that we can on the customer. It will show on the right-hand side in the attribute card. If you click on their name from the attribute card, you’ll be taken to their contact profile and timeline. You can also choose to “follow” them in order to be alerted whenever they come to the site.

If someone is a qualified lead, feel free to use our CQL rating to mark them as such. Here’s some more info on what a CQL is and how it works.

At the bottom of the page, you can change the conversation status from Open to Pending or Closed. Pending is great if there’s something you need to follow-up on. Be sure to close out all conversations once they’re complete. The customer won’t see the status changes from their end.

Conversation tags can be used for organization of the chats. Mark any chats about specific products, activities, etc.

Saved Replies are great to setup of you have commonly asked questions and you’re tired of typing the same replies over and over again. All Saved Replies can be accessed by anyone in the org.

Internal Notes cannot be seen by the customer, so these are great to use if you want to make notes in the conversation that you can refer back to.

Any files can be easily uploaded directly into chat. If you prefer to drag and drop into the chat, that works as well.

Once you’ve setup your calendar, you will have the ability to drop it directly into a conversation. It’s the most convenient way to book meetings instead of having to go back and forth to find a time. Not only do you have access to just your calendar, but you can also drop in calendars of other people on the team.

Lastly, your Status can be found in the bottom left of the screen. Staying “Active” will keep you in any routing rule that is setup and send you new conversations. If you go “Away,” you will be pulled out of the routing rules and not be added to any new incoming conversation automatically.

Other things to note:

Sharing conversations: The best way to share a conversation with someone on your team is to copy the URL and send it over. If they have Drift access, they’ll be able to view it without a problem. Another option is to add someone to a conversation by clicking the gear on the right hand corner. This will add someone as a participant and notify them of any changes in the chat.

Blocking Users: Blocking spammers or IP addresses is something that can also be done by clicking on the gear in the top right.

Live View

Live View is helpful in understanding who is on your site at any given time. You’re also able to chat with someone and send a direct message. This can be used successfully with deals that are close to closing. You can take this up a notch and use the “follow” feature to keep track of when specific people come to the site, instead of monitoring this page.

Anatomy of a Contact Profile

The contact profile is where you can find more details on a particular lead. Checkout the attributes on the left, filter timeline events in the activities, and send the lead a direct message all from the same place.


Was this article helpful?