What is the price / cost of Drift?
We have everything you probably need to know about pricing here. If you have any additional questions, don’t hesitate to hop into chat and we will be happy to help out.
Is the Free plan really free forever?
Yes! Really. We’re working on a super sweet referral program that’ll allow you to unlock more credits and stay free longer.
What is a contact?
A contact, or an active contact, is anyone you store information on in Drift. (e.g. an email address)
What is an active contact?
We don’t believe in charging you for people that aren’t active. So here’s what happens at Drift: before you are billed, we proactively go through all of your contacts and exclude those which have not been updated in the last 90 days from your bill. We only charge you for active contacts.
Will I get charged for anonymous users?
Short answer: nope! Chats with anonymous visitors are not counted towards your bill unless we capture information from them (e.g. an email address) and create a profile in our system.
Will I get charged for inactive contacts?
No. We don’t believe in charging you for people that aren’t active. So here’s what happens at Drift: before you are billed, we proactively go through all of your contacts and exclude those which have not been updated in the last 90 days from your bill.
Can I delete contacts?
Yes. But you will no longer have any information about those people moving forward. Even if you delete contacts, you'll still be charged for them for up to 90 days until they're no longer active.
How am I billed?
We charge you for the number of active contacts you have in Drift at the beginning of every billing month.
How do I upgrade if I am on an annual plan?
If you are simply upgrading the same plan (for more contacts or seats), you can do so on the billing page. If you would like to upgrade plans, please contacts us!
What is a seat?
A seat is anybody on your team that is using Drift. So, if you have 3 people on your team who will be talking to leads and customers through Drift, you'll need three seats.
What if I go over the contact limit of my plan?
If you outgrow the plan you’re on during any given month, we’ll bump you to the next pricing tier -- but you won’t see the increase until your next billing date (and we’ll always give you a heads up).
Where can I see how many contacts I have?
When you login to Drift, you can see the total number of contacts you have on your dashboard.
How do I know that it’s working once I buy?
The product will walk you through all the steps to get started. By the end, your website or product should have the chat widget you see in the bottom corner of this screen. If you get stuck at all, click down there and let us know. We’re here to help!
What do I do once I set this up?
We realize we’re helping you do new things. Inside the product, we’re producing content weekly that helps you learn best practices for when to reach out to customers in-app, with what types of messages. The cadence of outreach is important, as is the reason for it. We’re here to help!
Is my customer data safe?
Short answer: Yes! Security is our top priority when handling our customers sensitive data. The best place to learn about this is in our security documentation.
Not using Drift yet? Get your free account here.