How can I block a user?Last Updated: December 10, 2018
Sometimes, you have a person saying inappropriate or offensive things. Or, they're reaching a point where you no longer want to allow them to contact you and your team. Good news: You can block a user's IP address! This doc will cover
- How to Block Users by their IP
- What Blocking a User means and does
How to Block Users
Three simple steps:
- From a conversation, click on the gear icon in the top right corner
- From there, click on "Block User"
- Then, confirm that you wish to block that user
What Blocking a User means for you
Great, now they're blocked, but let's get the facts straight: what does this really mean for your experience and theirs?
The "Blocked" User Tag
Once you block a user a customer tag will be added automatically to the user labeled [Blocked] so you can create a filter of everyone who you blocked. You should also be able to view it from within your Inbox and Conversations view as a Custom Filter.
Messages Won't Send
As soon as a user is blocked, they will no longer be able to send you messages through Drift. However, they will still see the Drift widget, but if they try to send a message, it will not go through. Instead it will appear to always be "Sending..."
If you would like to hide all playbooks or the widget from appearing at all, then there here are your options:
- add the IP as a display condition for the widget or playbook in Targeting or
- create a segment of users you've blocked by tag and apply that as an exclusion segment to playbooks
Unblocking a Contact
You can unblock a contact at anytime by following the exact same steps as blocking them - the option will now be to remove the block.
It's also important to note that some regions of the world have a limited number of IP addresses, so blocking one IP address can block more than the one intended.